HTC Supporting I-SWEEEP

by | Mar 16, 2009 | Community Circle

The Houston Technology Center is now supporting the International Sustainable World (Energy, Engineering, and Environment) Project Olympiad (I-SWEEEP). 

I-SWEEEP is a groundbreaking science competition open to middle and high school students. I-SWEEEP works with local, national and international science fair organizations to bring the top ranking brightest math and science focused student projects to Houston.

As the HTC Advisory Board Chairman, I am thrilled to see the HTC reaching out to young talents as a driving force to emerging technologies.

“The HTC likes to partner with local non-profit organizations related to technology and/or education. With the focus on Energy, Engineering, and Environment we feel I-SWEEEP is a good fit for HTC. Also, as a part of our support we will be offering an award to one of the students,” said Deena Carstens, HTC Director, Marketing & Communications.

The actual competition will be held from April 15-20, 2009 at the George R. Brown Convention Center. Last year there were 402 projects from 1,356 participants. The students hailed from 52 countries, including Macedonia, Kyrgyzstan and the Philippines.

This is the second year the competition will be held here in Houston. I think it’s important that our city is hosting these kinds of events. I can foresee some of the students participating in I-SWEEEP at the middle and high school levels will be the ones entering the Rice Business Plan Competition when they reach the university level.

Supporting I-SWEEEP bookends the HTC’s mission of enabling the growth of emerging technology companies and encouraging entrepreneurialism in Houston.  The HTC is promoting free enterprise and entrepreneurship to our youth and then honors the success of Houston’s mature entrepreneurs at the annual HTC gala.

This year is the HTC’s 10th Anniversary and they are celebrating by honoring Robert McNair, founder and CEO of the Houston Texans.  They will also be honoring five members of the Houston technology community with a life time achievement award.  The honorees are:

Aerospace – Gale Burkett
Information Technology – Rod Canion
Life Science – Dr. Nancy Chang
Energy – Dan Duncan
Nanotechnology – Dr. James Tou

The gala will be held on May 14th, at the Intercontinental Hotel.  It’s going to be a great event!

Stay Connected